Crunchy Chicken’s Low-Impact Week

Save Turtles, stop using plastic bags 

My new favorite blogger, the crazy Crunch Chicken gal from Seattle, just wrapped up her “Low-Impact week.” I caught this one a little late but think it is still worth bringing up. Crunchy Chicken made a list of goals to meet for the week in addition to all of the guidelines she has already made for herself (some of which are pretty ambitious).  Her self-ordained Low-Impact week is over, but that doesn’t mean you can’t have your own. I plan on getting some of my gal pals to join me. Challenges are always more fun when you have worthy contenders. Crunchy Chicken will be posting another challenge in the middle of June.


  If you haven’t already, you should check out her blog. It’s very informative, not to mention hilarious. View all of the bloggers that participated in the challenge and read their comments.  

Here is Crunchy Chicken’s Low-Impact week list:  

Energy reduction

  • Keep the heat below 67 during the day and 60 at night
  • Unplug appliances and charging devices when not in use
  • No TV *
  • Air dry dishes *
  • Cold water only in machine washer *
  • Line dry clothes * 

Water reduction

  • Take shorter showers
  • Save water in bucket when warming up shower 

Food behaviors

  • Eat vegetarian for the week
  • Minimize packaged foods
  • Use cloth bags at grocery stores  

Waste reduction, reuse and other

  • Switch to 100% recycled plastic garbage bags
  • Replace 7 light bulbs with CFLs
  • Sign up for alternative energy plan  

The list I am currently working on to green-up my life:

  • Use only CFL Light bulbs (convert all lights in the house)
  • Recycle all plastic and glass*
  • Do not use plastic shopping bags*
  • Reuse cloth and paper bags*
  • Turn off water while brushing teeth*
  • Start a compost bin (Mine is in my garage and doesn’t smell a bit)*
  • Spread the word about biodegradable cat litter
  • Wash laundry in cold water as much as possible*
  • Hang dry clothes as much as possible (especially small loads)*
  • Grow herbs, tomatoes and other potted veggies on my back porch*
  • Do not heat dry the dishes
  • Make my own coffee or at least use my own reusable cup (We have a toddy cold brew coffee system that does not use electricity and makes an unbelievable cup of joe)
  • Get a shower spout stopper to save on water
  • Get Dryer Balls
  • Eat less meat (I will not go totally vegetarian but I have been expanding my horizons and I’m beginning to love tofu)
  • Buy Local as much as possible (I LOVE Farmer’s Markets)*
  • Use biodegradable bags for pet wasteTurn lights off*
  • Use power strips and turn off/unplug when appliances are not in use*
  • Recycle all the paper I use at work and inspire others*

* Hurdles I have overcome                                                                        

Leave a Reply

