Florida Dog Lovers, A dog needs YOUR help!

A good friend of mine’s neighbors moved out of their house yesterday and left their poor dog behind. She is a red shephard mix, weighs about 50 lbs, and is the sweetest dog! They had her living outside chained in their backyard and now they have left her chained to some trees beside their house. She has food and water but has no shelter from the heat or rain. If you have a fenced yard and would be able to take care of her, we would really prefer not to take her to the humane society. The family that owned her had three young girls, so she is good with kids.

Please email me or leave a comment before the other neighbors call and turn her over to animal control.

 Location = Boca Raton, Florida

16 responses to “Florida Dog Lovers, A dog needs YOUR help!

  1. Are you kidding me? I wish I had a yard and could take her. People like that make me sick. I hope you can help her…poor girl.

  2. I hope someone, (and I do mean one of the neighbors that witnessed this) calls the police on these people. Abandoning a tied up dog has to be illegal, no matter what part of the country, no?

  3. The dog is 2 1/2 yrs. old

  4. My husband and I have agreed to foster her until she finds a home. However, we will be going out of town for two weeks in July, so we need to find her a family quickly! Please continue to spread the word about her so she can have what every dog deserves — a loving home.

  5. I have a male Golden Retriever right now, but he is NOT spayed….I would consider taking her, but I need to know if she is nuetered???

  6. Glenn,

    I will try and find out if she has been fixed. I will get back with you ASAP.

    Thanks for your help!

  7. Just a quick update on the delightful pup . . . Her owners apparently moved due to foreclosure on their home and made the irresponsible decision to abandon her and their two sick cats. But even before this latest insult, it sounds like her quality of life was very poor – she spent all of her time tied to a tree in the backyard with very little shade and ants in her food. She has a cut on her back leg from where she got caught in her chain and injured her foot. When her owners abandoned her, April’s friend was kind enough to take the initiative to find her a proper home. My husband and I have a fenced backyard and experience rehabilitating dogs so we felt like we could serve as a temporary home until she finds a family.

    April’s friend kindly gave her a bath and then drove her up to our home last night. She was great in the car and not afraid at all. We took her on a walk to get familiar and it was clear that she hadn’t been leash trained – I don’t think she had ever been walked in her life! She caught on quickly and as of this morning was walking and heeling well on a leash (rather than veering from side to side). She slept indoors with us last night and appears to be housetrained so far.

    The name given to her by her owners was “D-O-G” – not the word “dog” but the actual letters spoken aloud. So strange! We decided to call her Summer since she came into our lives on the first day of summer and she’s so bright and optimistic. She doesn’t respond at all to “D-O-G” or anything that sounds like it so it’s pretty clear that she’s been starved for attention and affection.

    My dog, Isabelle, can be a little feisty and territorial around new dogs but Summer didn’t show ANY signs of aggression or even defense in face of Isabelle’s challenges. She seems to be extremely mellow, mild-mannered and submissive, and we were told that she is great around children.

    We know Summer is about 2.5 years old, Shepherd/Chow mix, spayed, soft medium-length coat, teeth in good condition, no fleas (we treated her with Advantix last night just in case). I’ll try to get her in to see a vet this weekend to give her a checkup and shots.

    As I mentioned in my note above, we can’t keep her for long because we are leaving for vacation in two weeks. I’d love to find Summer a home quickly so she doesn’t have to go through two painful departures in rapid succession. My cell phone number is 561-202-5725 if you’re interested, and my email address is channing@copyshark.com

  8. Channing,

    You and Chip have been nothing less than amazing. The kindness you have shown Summer is overwhelming. I know that right now she is in the most capable of hands.

    This young pup deserves a warm and loving home. Thank you to everyone for their interest in Summer. Let’s keep spreading the word, I know with everyone’s help we will find her a family.

  9. Channing…please let me know if you do not find a family before you leave on vacation. If you need a place for Summer to stay while you are away, I can help out. I will also be asking around to see if I can find a nice family for her too. Thanks for saving her! Thanks April for getting the word out! I would have hated to see her suffer any more than she already has.

  10. Thanks, everyone! Summer deserves far better than life has given her thus far. I know with everyone’s help, we’ll find her a wonderful home.

    I forgot to mention that Summer is smaller than we originally thought – she looks in the neighborhood of 35-40 pounds, a medium sized girl (perfect size, in my opinion!).

    Also, in light of the kind comment above that indicated interest Summer but mentioned an un-neutered retriever, I wanted to make sure all of April’s readers were aware of the amazing health and behavioral benefits of neutering male dogs (in addition to the community benefit of helping to prevent pet overpopulation):

    Neutering is recommended for all dogs and is beneficial for a variety of reasons. Dogs that have been neutered show a reduced sexual interest in females after approximately six to 12 months. Episodes of aggression towards other male dogs should also cease. In 60 percent of cases, inter-male aggression is reduced, as is mounting of people. Roaming (i.e. running away from home) is also reduced in about 90 percent of cases. Territorial urine marking in the house, if it occurs, is reduced in half the cases.

    The health effects of castration are quite significant. There is a reduced incidence of perianal adenomas (i.e. tumours of the rectal area) and the risk of testicular tumors is completely eliminated. There is also a reduced incidence of perineal hernias.

    Source: Veterinary Medical Association

  11. Pingback: The Many Benefits of Neutering « This GREEN Life

  12. Channing found Summer a loving home!!

  13. Can Channing give us some little details? I’ve had lots of people come up to me and ask what happened to Summer??

  14. Channing-

    I have found a woman who has recently lost her dog to illness….VERY INTERESTED in providing a permanent home for Summer. If you could please email me with a little information I would appreciate it very much. She would like to know how soon the lady I know could meet Summer? And has the dog already been fixed?

  15. Summer met a her new family and doggie sister Friday night and is doing very well. The couple seemed like wonderful, caring dog parents — quite a change from the life Summer has known in the past. They took her home, they are doing well and it’s looking like she may have found a fantastic forever family!

Leave a Reply

